The Royal Bahamas Police Force exists under the authority of The Police Act 1965. In accordance with the Act, the force is headed by a Commissioner who is subject to the authority of The Minister of National Security of The Bahamas. The Commissioner is Ex-Officio Provost Marshall, and has the responsibility for the guidance and general direction of The Royal Bahamas Police Force. He is supported by a Deputy Commissioner, one (1) Senior Assistant Commissioner, and four (4) Assistant Commissioners.

The Police Act of 1965 delineates a mandate for The Royal Bahamas Police Force which includes the maintenance of law and order, preservation of the peace, prevention and detection of crime, the apprehension of offenders, and the enforcement of all laws within The Commonwealth of The Bahamas. Consistent with this mandate, the force provides policing services throughout the length and breath of The Bahamas and maintains a distinct presence on 24 major Islands and 4 Cays.

For operational efficiency, the landmass of The Bahamas is divided into three policing districts: New Providence, Grand Bahama, and the Family Island Districts. Each district is headed by an Assistant Commissioner who is supported by a number of Chief Superintendents. In this structure, authority and responsibility are devolved to Assistant Commissioners who have greater management and decision making control of their portfolios.